A photographic food adventure

My Cheater’s Curry

LOL, I always get mocked for making a curry cause I do it ALLLL the time [only cause its so ridiculously quick, and I wants me food NOW.] So here is my version of a sneaky cheat curry. I have made this so many times in the past few weeks because when I am out of food and can’t be bothered wandering to the supermarket, lentils are my friend! Also, we now have a rice cooker, which is the bestest friend of all [Tory is pretty good competition though.]

I actually made this a week ago, but then I developed a slight obsession with One Direction, which kinda put the rest of my life on hiatus. Don’t judge! My upcoming test and two lab reports snapped me back to reality, so all is well… for now.

Ingredients
Dry lentils [sometimes they come in a handy soup packet, which is what i used this time, but the plain ones will do, just wash them first cause they will be starchy. You can also use canned lentils, they work just as well]
1 tablespoon oil
1 – 2 tsp curry powder [depending on how spicy you want it]
a sprinkle of chilli powder
1/4 tsp tumeric powder
1/2 tsp coriander powder
1/2 tsp cumin powder
salt and pepper to taste.

Method
Rinse the lentils, cover with water and leave on high heat until boiling point.

Cheater Lentil Curry (3)Cheater Lentil Curry (6)

Once they start to boil, turn the heat right down and cover so that it simmers about 5 minutes. Stir occasionally to prevent sticking.

Cheater Lentil Curry (8)

Add the oil, chilli, curry, coriander, cumin, and tumeric powders. Stir well.

Cheater Lentil Curry (4)Cheater Lentil Curry (5)

Keep it simmering until the water has been absorbed into the lentils and they are soft enough to break with a fork. [not sure about you, but i like my lentils soft.]
Add more water if you have to and keep it simmering until it’s at a consistency you like. Salt and pepper to taste.

Cheater Lentil Curry (10)Cheater Lentil Curry (11)

Serve with rice. Or if you are fancy like Tory, serve with naan. Or if you are lazy like me, serve with regular bread. 😉

Cheater Lentil Curry (1)

The only thing i have to say is… PLEASE don’t overdose on the curry powder, or chilli powder, or just any of the powders. The last thing anyone wants is to stop themselves enjoying a meal because its too spicy and numbs your tongue.

Enjoy yourself!

Nurul.

Leave a Reply

